BYC, MSU-Maguindanao are Kutawato regional messaging hub co-hosts

The OURmindaNOW Messaging Hub (MH) continues to expand its network after the Bangsamoro Youth Commission (BYC) and Mindanao State University (MSU) – Maguindanao, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Equal Access International-Philippines (EAI-PH) as co-hosts of the Kutawato Messaging Hub (MH) on January 18, 2022, at the Pagana Royal Hall, Cotabato City. 

Heads of the parties involved led in the signing ceremony, with Chairperson Marjanie S. Mimbantas Macasalong, Ph.D of BYC, Chancellor Bai Hejira Nefertiti Sinsuat Macalandong-Limbona, Ph.D of MSU-Maguindanao and Country Director Ahmed Harris Pangcoga of EAI-PH. BYC commissioners also showed support as witnesses to the new partnership forged.

The MOU signing, one of the activities in line with BARMM’s third founding anniversary celebration, signified as the start of strengthening collaborations among and between hosts and members of the messaging hub to efficiently implement programs in the region and beyond. The messaging hub, a convergence for positive social change movements, is established to create a venue for knowledge-sharing, build an information ecosystem, capacitate peace influencers, and develop powerful advocacies that amplify narratives of peace. 

EAI-PH Country Director Ahmed Harris Pangcoga expressed his profound gratitude to BYC and MSU-Maguindanao for accepting the call to co-host the Kutawato MH, citing that both organizations can uniquely offer and lead initiatives that will inspire more social movements for peace and development. MSU-Maguindanao’s co-hosting responsibility is lodged under its peace arm, the Institute for Peace and Development in Mindanao (IPDM). Meanwhile, BYC’s agreement as co-host to the Kutawato MH covers co-hosting responsibilities in Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi where other regional messaging hubs (ZamPenBaSulTa and Ranaw) are also established.  

At present, there are three organizations co-hosting the Kutawato MH including The Moropreneur Inc. (TMI) who sits as the lead of the Technical Working Group since its launching in 2019.

Leave a Comment